Home Page Haverhill News

Haverhill Poll
Haverhill Poll


Mailing List

Matthew Hancock
Your Local MP

Draw sees lady golfers retain cup

Tuesday, 27th April 2010.

Haverhill lady golfers played in the Fornham Park Cup on Thursday, April 22. The event is held every year at the Coupals Road course against the Fornham Park Ladies, as a pairs competition.

This year the result was a friendly 4-4 draw, so Haverhill retain the cup as they were last year’s winners.

It was also a successful day for Haverhill ladies Lyn Fish, Jackie Condon and Mary Sail who played in the Hintlesham Ladies Spring Meeting on the same day.

The format was teams of three with two scores to count on each hole. Haverhill's ladies scooped the prize with 45pts, just one point ahead of their rivals.

The seniors played their match against Lords Notleys on Friday, April 23 at home. The home advantage paid off after a closely-fought match - the final result being a win for Haverhill 4˝ - 3˝.

Gerrie Wheatley had a runaway victory on Saturday, April 24, playing in the Ladies April Stableford, winning by seven clear points. Her handicap was cut by two shots and she is now playing off 25.

The full results were as follows: 1 Gerrie Wheatley 41pts; 2 Judy Farren 34pts; 3 (on countback) Catie Heathfield 31pts.

Haverhill hosted the first round of both the Hambro and Tolly County Matches this year on Sunday, April 25. The Hambro was drawn against Waldringfield, and the Tolly against Brett Vale.

The Hambro morning matches were as follows: Andy Bareham & Jack Warwick (AS) Andy Fish & Paul Houchen (2 up), Craig Sissons & Chris Vince (2 down), Eamonn Bareham & Dan Edwards (3 down).

During the afternoon Waldringfield continued to pile on the pressure to win by eight up. The afternoon match results were: Andy Fish & Paul Houchen (AS), Chris Vince & Craig Sisson (6 down), Eamonn Bareham & Dennis Harkness (1 down), Jack Warwick & Andy Bareham (2 up).

By contrast, Haverhill’s Tolly Team dominated in their morning matches, to finish 17 up at lunch. The results were: Charlie Hudson & Dave Humphries (1 down), Wayne Penman & Colin Bradnum (6 up), Graham Ashcroft & Andy Craig (8 up), Dean Cornelius & Richard Parker (4 up).

During the afternoon, Brett Vale managed to stem the flow in Haverhill’s direction, but the visitors were unable to claw back the deficit with Haverhill eventually winning 17 up.

The afternoon results were as follows: Charlie Hudson & Dave Humphries (2 down), Wayne Penman & Colin Bradnum (AS), Graham Ashcroft & Andy Craig (1 down), Dean Cornelius & Richard Parker (3 up). The Tolly Team are now through to the next round to be played at Haverhill against Rushmere on May 23.

Haverhill Online News

Comment on this story

[board listing] [login] [register]

No comments have been posted for this news entry.


You must be logged in to post messages. (login now)

© Haverhill-UK | Accessibility | Disclaimer