Home Page Haverhill News

Haverhill Poll
Haverhill Poll


Mailing List

Matthew Hancock
Your Local MP

Exceptional scores lead to handicap slash

Tuesday, 28th August 2012.

The CAB Edwards Juniors Club Championship was held at Haverhill Golf Club on Tuesday, August 21.

The format was 36-hole medal, with prizes for the best scratch and handicap scores. Some excellent cards were returned, but the clear winner of the handicap competition, following two amazing rounds of golf, was Ollie Fish with 60+60=120.

As a result Ollie has slashed his handicap, under the new exceptional scores reduction system, by six shots to 15.

In second place was Ellis Brown with 68+64=132 and in third place Ollie Stevenson with 68+65=133.

Ellis Brown was the winner of the scratch competition, to claim the title of Junior Club Champion for 2012 with a gross score of 78+74=152.

In second place was junior captain Liam Merritt with 79+75=154 and in third place Michael Perrett with 77+79=156.

Alice Iron, Haverhill’s junior girls’ captain, also had two commendable nett rounds of 70+70=140, and has reduced her handicap to 20.

The August IFF Challenge was played on Wednesday, August 22. John Carr was the overall winner of the stableford competition with a nine under par 45pts, reducing his handicap by three shots.

The full results were: Division One, 1 Michael Bennett 40pts, 2 Eric Armstrong 38pts on countback, 3 Lewis Whiting 38pts on countback.

Division Two, 1 John Carr 45pts, 2 Allen O’Donoghue 40pts, 3 Jim Day 40pts on countback.

Division Three, 1 Kelvin Ellam 42 pts, 2 Nigel Farenden 38pts on countback, 3 Graham Hepworth 38pts.

On Sunday, August 26, the Medal and R Woolmer Greens Trophy was contested. The R Woolmer Greens was restricted to competitors aged over 18, playing off a handicap limit of 18.

Neil Farlie was the trophy winner with an excellent round of 75-8-67 on countback. Haverhill junior Lewis Whiting had the lowest gross score of 71, reducing his handicap by a shot to four, and was the overall winner of the August Medal.

The full results were: Division One, 1 Lewis Whiting 71-5-66 on countback; 2 Russell Palmer 74-8(i)-66; 3 Neil Farlie 75-8-67 on countback.

Division Two, 1 Mitchell Davis 82-15-67 on countback, 2 Darren Lyons 81-14-67; 3 Brian Jones 85-16-59.

Division Three, 1 John Vale 94-27-67; 2 John Annand 90-21-69; 3 Martin Turner 98-27-71.

Haverhill Online News

Comment on this story

[board listing] [login] [register]

No comments have been posted for this news entry.


You must be logged in to post messages. (login now)

© Haverhill-UK | Accessibility | Disclaimer