Home Page Haverhill News

Haverhill Poll
Haverhill Poll


Mailing List

Matthew Hancock
Your Local MP

Exits and Entrances

Sunday, 28th May 2006.

The twelve months following the Haverhill Business Awards Gala Ball and Awards Ceremony on May 21st 2005 have been very eventful for the Haverhill Chamber of Commerce. Not least for having provided the stage for a significant number of exits from the original founding committee and several new appointments.

The Haverhill Chamber of Commerce was formed in November 2003 and officially launched in February 2004. The founding committee of five were Steven Abbott, Jason Fitzpatrick, Paul Donno, Elaine Collins and Charmaine Symonds.

With the resignation of Jason Fitzpatrick last week, all but one of the members of the group who pioneered the chamber presence in Haverhill have now stepped down from the Executive Committee in the last eleven months. Chairman Paul Donno alone remains in the role he has filled since January 2004.

Paul Donno chose the Chamber’s May event to announce the details of several new appointments to the chamber committee. James Tyler, assistant head teacher and director of business and enterprise at Castle Manor Business and Enterprise College, becomes vice chairperson, replacing founder chamber member Elaine Collins who resigned in November 2005. Russell Boulton, deputy head teacher of Samuel Ward Arts & Technology College will be the chamber secretary and replaces founder chamber members Steven Abbot, who resigned in September 2005 and Charmaine Symonds in June 2005.

Karen McGerty also joins the Executive Committee as membership co-ordinator. This will allow former membership co-ordinator, Jason Fitzpatrick, one of the original five founder members of the Haverhill Chamber, to focus solely on the development of the chamber website which he designed, built and has continued to maintain since its launch in February 2004.

The full Haverhill Chamber Executive Committee now includes, as well as those mentioned above, Paul McGurl of Risk & Safety Solutions, Rob Maidment of the SDA, Dick Calvesbert of the Suffolk Chamber of Commerce and Elaine Carr of FlipFlop Marketing. Elaine Carr has been contracted to manage chamber events since January 2006. Paul Donno will continue to act as treasurer as well as chairman.

Paul Donno said: “We have a great team now in place to move forward, both in terms of membership growth and as a body representing our members on what is happening within Haverhill at this critical time in the town’s evolution.”

Haverhill Online News

Comment on this story

[board listing] [login] [register]

No comments have been posted for this news entry.


You must be logged in to post messages. (login now)

© Haverhill-UK | Accessibility | Disclaimer