Home Page Haverhill News

Haverhill Poll
Haverhill Poll


Mailing List

Matthew Hancock
Your Local MP

Golf club hosts major regional ladies event

Tuesday, 17th July 2012.

Following the inaugural event in 2011, Haverhill Golf Club was again invited to host the Eastern Region Senior Ladies Championship (for over 50s) on Friday, July 132.

A field of 58 ladies entered the tournament representing clubs from across the eastern region including Suffolk, Essex, Norfolk, Cambridgeshire, Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire.

The course, despite the overnight heavy rain, was set up to a very high standard by head greenkeeper Glenn Norris and his team.

It presented a tough challenge for the ladies and was reflected in the competition scratch score being raised to 75.

Event organiser, Anne Archer, who is also lady captain at Ipswich Golf Club, gave the prize presentation and announced the results as follows: Sue Lines-Poulton from Thorndon Park won the overall prize with the lowest gross score 81-6-75, to claim the championship.

The overall nett prize was won by Teresa Wardlow from Stowmarket with 89-16-73. The Over 70s category was won by Rosemary Farrow from St Neots with 83-6-77.

Winner of the Over 60s category was Isobel Maclean from the Gog Magog with 86-10-76 and the runner-up was Ann Graves from Woodbridge with 89-12-77.

Winner of the over 50s category was Haverhill’s Pat Kennedy with 92-16-76 and the runner-up was Christine Ellis from John O’Gaunt with 94-17-77.

Afterwards Anne Archer thanked her assistant from Ipswich Golf Club, Liz Robinson, together with volunteers from Haverhill including lady captain Doreen Darbey, Gill Richardson, Pat Wellstead, Syd Gould, Norman White and club captain Steve Ward - their teamwork ensured the day was a big success.

Other Results:
On Thursday, July 12, Haverhill Senior Ladies played a friendly match against Saffron Walden Senior Ladies at home and the result overall was a draw.

Haverhill’s Curry Cup match at home against Five Lakes on July 14 had to be cancelled due to heavy rain and will be re-scheduled early next month.

On Sunday, July 15, the Medal & Cecil Darken third leg was played with a large field of 116 taking part. The overall winner was Neil Farlie with an incredible round of 75-11-64, trimming his handicap by one shot in the process.

The full results were: Division One, 1 Neil Farlie 75-11-64; 2 Simon Cousins 78-12-66; 3 Garry Baird 77-10-67.

Division Two, 1 Richard Norden 83-17-66; 2 Daniel Bentley 82-13-69; 3 Mich Calmet 89-18-71.

Division Three, 1 Sean Doyle 90-22-68 on countback; 2 Neil Farenden 90-22-68; 3 Peter Amies 91-22-69.

The winner of the Cecil Darken Trophy (best two rounds played from May, June and July medals) was Tim Daniels with 71-69=140, just edging out second-placed Bill Lancee with 70-71-141.

Haverhill Online News

Comment on this story

[board listing] [login] [register]

No comments have been posted for this news entry.


You must be logged in to post messages. (login now)

© Haverhill-UK | Accessibility | Disclaimer