Home Page Haverhill News

Haverhill Poll
Haverhill Poll


Mailing List

Matthew Hancock
Your Local MP

Golf tournament attracted over 70 competitors

Monday, 18th October 2010.

The ninth Sturmer Charity Golf Tournament took place on Friday, September 24, at Haverhill Golf Club, with a total of 72 competing in the event.

The four-ball better ball stableford format proved challenging when the initial overcast weather eventually turned into a steady rain, which dampened the golfers, but not their spirits!

The evening concluded with an awards ceremony, auction and raffle draw, hosted by Paul Wilby, the PGA head professional at Haverhill.

The awards were presented by the competition main sponsor Neil McMaster, general manager, Culina Logistics Limited and the Smithett Perpetual Trophy presented by Mr Patrick O'Flanagan representing Mr Ivan Smithett.

Individual players recognised during the awards ceremony included Nick Markwell, who walked off with a cash prize after winning the putting competition.

Also recognised were Miss Jo Welch and Ian Jones for Nearest the Pin and Karen Wilby and Nick Markwell for the longest drive.

The team results were: 1 Paul Wilby, Karen Wilby, Mark Barrett, Roger Toone with 78pts; 2 Sarand - Chris Evans, Andy Howard, Ian Evans, Howard Bliss with 75pts; 3 IBA Wealth Management - Mike Tokely, Aaron Tokely, Ryan Kent, Stephen Pilcher with 74pts.

The event was a great success, thanks to the enthusiastic participation from the Sturmer Village Committee and volunteers. The sponsors were also thanked for their contribution, which was greatly appreciated.

Other News...
The Ladies Daily Mail Foursomes was played on October 9. Winning by 5pts ahead of their nearest rivals were lady captain Sally Price and Karen Wilby with 32pts, in second place were Doreen Darbey and Denise Walker with 27pts and in third place Sheila Price and Theresa Spittle with 26pts. Sally and Karen will now represent Haverhill in the next round, due to be played in 2011.

The menís midweek medal, played on Wednesday October 13, was a very closely fought competition, with each division winner scoring a nett 68. Having to be separated on countback, Roger Hartley was the overall winner.

The full results were: Division One, 1 Gary Liddle 71-3-68; 2 Kevin Eldred 77-8-69; 3 Andy Fish 77-5-72.

Division Two, 1 Roger Metcalf 87-19-68; 2 Chris Williams 89-19-70; 3 Steve Piotrowski 86-16-70.

Division Three, 1 Roger Hartley 92-24-68; 2 Dick Sisman 91-21-70; 3 Geoff Dorkins 94-21-73.

Haverhill Online News

Comment on this story

[board listing] [login] [register]

No comments have been posted for this news entry.


You must be logged in to post messages. (login now)

© Haverhill-UK | Accessibility | Disclaimer