Home Page Haverhill News

Haverhill Poll
Haverhill Poll


Mailing List

Matthew Hancock
Your Local MP

Golfer Marion finishes seven shots clear

Tuesday, 11th October 2011.

The Ladies Medal, played on Wednesday, October 5, at Haverhill Golf Club, was won by Marion Kendall who finished an amazing seven shots clear of her nearest rival, with a score of 92-24-68.

As a result Marion has had her handicap cut by two shots. In second place was Linda Macfarlane with 102-27-75 and in third place Mary Sail with 94-16-78.

A full field contested the first Winter Alliance meeting of the season held at Rushmere Golf Club, Ipswich, on October 2.

In sweltering conditions, the competition was extremely close with all three leading pairs returning 44 stableford points.

The winners, decided on countback, were Paul Donno from Haverhill and Sam Ward from Ufford Park. The runners-up were Peter Jiggens and John Partridge (Stoke-by-Nayland) with Dean Garnham and Steve Wade (Felixstowe Ferry) in third spot.

The leading professional was Lawrence Dodd (Bury Driving Range) with a level par round of 70, from second place Rob Pritchard (Cretingham) with 71.

On Saturday, October 8, in very windy and much cooler conditions, Haverhill Ladies competed in their qualifying round of the 2012 Daily Mail foursomes.

The winning pair, Mary Sail and Karen Wilby, scored 31pts and they will go on to represent Haverhill in the knockout stage of the competition which will be drawn in January next year.

The runners-up were Kathy Bowman and Linda Macfarlane with 29pts and in third place were Catie Heathfield and Teresa Spittle with 28pts.

Haverhill men played in a friendly match for the Bone Of Contention Trophy away at Abbotsley on Saturday, October 8.

It was a successful day for the Haverhill team with a 4˝-3˝ win. Haverhill’s team captain, Andy Fish, commented on the excellent hospitality at Abbotsley, the great condition of the course and the spirit in which the match was played.

The M Rayner Cup, (medal qualifier), was played on Sunday, October 9. The result was decided on countback and the overall winner with a fantastic round of 81-16-65 was Glen Hughes, trimming his handicap by one shot.

In second place was junior vice-captain, Liam Merritt with the lowest gross score, 73-7-66, and he also has reduced his handicap by a shot. In third place was Alan O’Donoghue with 83-17-66.

Haverhill Online News

Comment on this story

[board listing] [login] [register]

No comments have been posted for this news entry.


You must be logged in to post messages. (login now)

© Haverhill-UK | Accessibility | Disclaimer