Home Page Haverhill News

Haverhill Poll
Haverhill Poll


Mailing List

Matthew Hancock
Your Local MP

Golfers battle well despite conditions

Tuesday, 1st February 2011.

The Menís IFF Challenge was played at Haverhill Golf Club on Wednesday, January 26, and there were some very commendable scores despite the difficult conditions.

Peter McLennan was the overall winner on countback with a nett 70. The full results were: Division One, 1 Peter McLennan 82-12-70; 2 Andy Fish 75-4-71; 3 Dennis Harkness 79-7-72.

Division Two, 1 Tim Daniels 83-13-70; 2 Ernie Lloyd 88-15-73; 3 Stewart Johnstone 93-19-74.

Division Three, 1 Brian Johnson 101-22-79; 2 Paul Mower 108-28-80; 3 Richard Parker (Snr) 108-28-80.

The Ladies January Stableford, originally rained off on January 19, was rescheduled for January 26. Mary Sail continued her recent success by adding another victory to her tally with a score of 31pts. Pat Kennedy finished in second place with 28pts and Lyn Fish in third place with 23pts.

There was a good turnout for the Menís Medal played on Sunday, January 30. Alan Law was the overall winner with a superb nett score of 66, just edging out Andy Craig and Martin Mansfield -as a result these players have reduced their handicaps by one shot.

The full results were: Division One, 1 Andy Craig 79-12-67; 2 Gerry Scott 74-5-69 (lowest gross); 3 Ed Baker 80-10-70.

Division Two, 1 Alan Law 86-20-66; 2 Martin Mansfield 86-19-67; 3 Michael Elsworth 82-13-69.

Division Three, 1 Chris Mellings 89-21-68; 2 Sean Doyle 96-24-72; 3 Kieron Bailey 97-22-75.

Waldringfield Golf Club hosted the Suffolk Winter Alliance meeting on Sunday, January 30, with a strong field of 60 players including seven professionals taking part.

The Professional prize was shared by Robin Mann (Southwold) and Chris Smith (Fynn Valley) with one under par scores of 70. Haverhillís Paul Wilby finished just out of the prizes with a score of 74.

The Team Stableford event (two scores from four to count) was won by Graham Smith, Alan Garnett (both of Bury-St-Edmunds), and Paddy Lockwood and Tom Lockwood (both of Newton Green), with a score of 89 points.

Haverhillís best performance came from Darragh Whelan and Dean Cornelius, along with Kevin Earp (Bury Driving Range) and B Luke (Bury St Edmunds), as they finished six points behind the winners with a score of 83pts.

Haverhill Online News

Comment on this story

[board listing] [login] [register]

No comments have been posted for this news entry.


You must be logged in to post messages. (login now)

© Haverhill-UK | Accessibility | Disclaimer