Home Page Haverhill News

Haverhill Poll
Haverhill Poll


Mailing List

Matthew Hancock
Your Local MP

Golfing pair capitalise on opponents' mistake

Wednesday, 30th March 2011.

Joe Davis and Lee Chandler were the winners of the Touchwood Cup, the men’s winter foursomes knockout competition at Haverhill Golf Club.

From an initial field of 29 pairs, Joe and Lee battled through to the final to meet tough opposition in the pairing of Charlie Hudson and Paul Bartlett.

The match was all square after the 16 holes, however Joe and Lee capitalised on a mistake made by their opponents to go one up on 17th and then won the 18th to win 2up and take the trophy.

Lee had further success, partnering lady vice-captain Doreen Darbey, to win the Winter Mixed Foursomes.

The final was played against Simon and Sally Price who put up a commendable performance, however Lee and Doreen managed to close out the match on the 16th to win 3&2.

The March IFF Challenge was played on Wednesday, March 23, and there were some excellent scores returned. The overall winner was Keith McCallum on countback with a nett score of 65, just edging out Ellis Woko and Martin Mansfield who both netted 65.

As a result all players have had their handicaps reduced. The full results were: Division One, 1 Eric Kiddle 79-9-70; 2 Andy Fish 74-4-70; 3 Wayne Penman 83-12-71.

Division Two, 1 Martin Mansfield 83-18-65; 2 Ernie Lloyd 83-15-68; 3 Nicky Weller 83-14-69.

Division Three, 1 Keith McCallum 90-25-65, 2 Ellis Woko 89-24-65; 3 Peter Mercer 90-22-68.

The Rosebowl Final was contested on Sunday, March 27, with the field comprising all the monthly medal division winners during the 2010/11 season.

Craig Sisson won overall with a superb 72-5-67, and his handicap has been trimmed to four. In second place was Dan Wilkins with 87-17-70 and in third place Gerry Scott 76-5-71.

On Saturday, March 26, the Past Captains’ Event was held. Thirteen teams took part, each team comprising a past captain of Haverhill Golf Club with three guests invited from Haverhill and other golf clubs.

Derek Pollitt, now a member at Felixstowe Golf Club, returned to Haverhill for the event as he celebrated 20 years since his captaincy.

The final result was very close, but the winners were Terry Bishop (Past Captain 2008), David Pipe, Murray McKenzie, Dan Wilkins with 116pts, in second place, Peter Bowers (past captain 2007), Jim Walker, Graham Ashcroft and Josh Brown with 115pts, and in third place, Gerry Scott (past captain 1998), Mich Calmet, P McAllen and Lee Chandler with 110pts.

For the third round of the Mail on Sunday, Haverhill was drawn away against The Essex. Gordon Price, Haverhill's team captain, reported that The Essex course was in excellent condition although the putting was tricky.

All the matches were played in good spirits and the captain and players from the Essex made the Haverhill team most welcome.

The results were as follows (Haverhill players first): Lee Chandler lost against Daniel Riley-Bourne 7&6, Bob Spittle beat Neil Anderson 4&3, David Pipe lost against Ed Oldaker 3&2, Derek Thomas lost against Mark Hanley 3&2, Eamonn Bareham lost against Darren Grace 3&1. Overall Haverhill lost 4-1.

There was disappointment for the ladies playing in their Weston Match at Rushmere, where they also lost 4-1.

The result was (Haverhill players first): Sue Carr lost against Mary Pendle 3&4, Mary Sail lost against Carol Perks 5&4, Karen Wilby lost against June Kenworthy 5&4, Linda Bugg beat Adrienne Langston 4&2, and Marion Kendle lost against Maureen Farmer 6&4.

Lady captain Marian Mercer thanked the hosts, the teams and their caddies. The return match will be held at Haverhill on April 21, where Haverhill hope to turn the tables!

The senior section interclub matches season got underway in March, and to date they have had a mixed bag of results: on March 10, away against Newton Green, they lost 3˝ -4˝; on March 11 at home drawn against Colne Valley it was a 4-4 draw; on March 18 the Towerlands Mixed was played at home with a win for Haverhill 4˝ -3˝ and on March 25 at home against Saffron Walden, Haverhill won 6-2.

On Monday, March 28, the seniors played the Bleasdale Cup and afterwards a presentation was held. The winning pair was Sheila Playle and Robin Grapes.

Other trophies: The Mott Cup Men's Monday League winner was Keith McCallum, and the Ladies Monday League winner was Ann Thompson.

Finally the Roy Kernutt Achievement Award was presented. The person winning this award was selected by the senior section committee after having met various criteria, including enjoyment of the game, level of improvement and overall popularity with other members. Congratulations went to Doug Hardy, who proudly accepted this accolade.

Haverhill Online News

Comment on this story

[board listing] [login] [register]

No comments have been posted for this news entry.


You must be logged in to post messages. (login now)

© Haverhill-UK | Accessibility | Disclaimer