Home Page Haverhill News

Haverhill Poll
Haverhill Poll


Mailing List

Matthew Hancock
Your Local MP

Handicaps slashed, but mixed results for golfers

Tuesday, 29th May 2012.

The Men’s IFF Challenge was played at Haverhill Golf Club on Wednesday, May 23. The clear winner with a superb score of 45pts was Ryan Greenwood, who has slashed his handicap by four shots to 20.

The full results were: Division One, 1 Dennis Harkness 37pts; 2 Neil Farlie 34pts; 3 Ted Fairhead 34pts.

Division Two, 1 Simon Cousins 36pts; 2 Frank Robertson 36pts; 3 Mark Wells 35pts.

Division Three, 1 Ryan Greenwood 45pts; 2 Ian Raper 38pts; 3 Graham Hepworth 33pts.

On Thursday, May 24, Haverhill Ladies travelled to Halesworth for the preliminary round of the Cranworth Cup against Ipswich (Purdis) Golf Club.

After the morning foursomes matches, Haverhill Ladies had a commanding lead 14˝ to ˝. The scores for the morning matches were (Haverhill ladies first): Lyn Fish & Catie Heathfield 5-0 against Chrissy Grainger & Angela Key, Marion Kendall & Gerry Wheatley 4˝-˝ Margaret Bussell & Jean Tibble, Marian Mercer & Sally Price 5-0 Liz Henderson & Carole Hayward.

After lunch, Haverhill went on to produce another confident performance in the singles matches, extending their lead overall by 35˝-9˝.

The scores for the afternoon singles were (Haverhill Ladies first): Lyn Fish 4˝-˝ Angela Key; Marion Kendall 2˝-2˝ Margaret Bussell; Gerry Wheatley 0-5 Chrissy Grainger; Catie Healthfield 4-1 Jean Tibble; Marian Mercer 5-0 Liz Henderson; Sally Price 5-0 Carole Hayward. Haverhill Ladies go on to meet Newton Green for the first round match of the Cranworth on Thursday, June 28.

The Cecil Darken First Leg and PGA Pro Am Qualifier was played on Sunday, May 27. The overall winner was Trevor Broomfield with an excellent round of 79-14-65, trimming his handicap by two shots to 12.

Broomfield has also qualified to partner head professional Paul Wilby at the Regional Final of the National PGA Pro-Am Championship to be held at Kings Lynn on Monday, July 16.

The full results were: Division One, 1 Peter Garner 77-10-67; 2 Michael Bennett 82-12-70; 3 Bob Spittle 78-8-70.

Division Two, 1 Trevor Broomfield 79-14-65; 2 Dave Nicholas 87-19-68; 3 Peter Bowers 82-13-69.

Division Three, 1 Mark Wray 90-21-69; 2 John Annand 92-21-71 on countback; 3 Lawrence Drysdale 98-27-71.

There was disappointment for the men’s Stenson team on Saturday, May 26, drawn away at Rookery Park for their first round match. Unfortunately Haverhill lost 9-3 to the hosts.

Afterwards, team captain Gordon Price thanked all the players and their supporters and said: “The Rookery Park course was in very good condition and Haverhill were well beaten by a very strong team."

It was similar disappointment for Haverhill Ladies on Monday, May 28, for their first round match of the Stearn, also played away at Rookery Park.

Haverhill’s lady captain Doreen Darbey thanked everyone for an excellent match and, despite the efforts of the Haverhill team, they were unable to overcome the hosts, losing overall 2-1. Doreen went onto wish the Rookery Park Ladies - all the very best for the next round.

Haverhill Online News

Comment on this story

[board listing] [login] [register]

No comments have been posted for this news entry.


You must be logged in to post messages. (login now)

© Haverhill-UK | Accessibility | Disclaimer