Home Page Haverhill News

Haverhill Poll
Haverhill Poll


Mailing List

Matthew Hancock
Your Local MP
 Haverhill UK Vacancy

Mayor re-elected to cover changeover of town clerk

Wednesday, 28th May 2014.

Town mayor Cllr Roger Andre was re-elected for a second consecutive term at Haverhill Town Council's annual meeting last night.

In proposing Cllr Andre (Lab), the Conservative leader on the council, Cllr Betty McLatchey, said a degree of continuity was needed at this time because a new town clerk was taking up the post next week and keeping the same mayor would cover the changeover.

Cllr Andre's nomination was seconded by Cllr Pat Hanlon (Lab) and there were no ther nominations.

Cllr Maureen Byrne was re-elected as deputy mayor, proposed by Cllr David Roach (Con) and seconded by Cllr Ernie Goody (Lab).

The council's committee memberships were continued, but one of the town's two new UKIP councillors, Cllr Barry Robbins, proposed that his colleague, Cllr Paul Firman, be added to the leisure and comunity committee.

Cllr Andre said this would be referred to that committee to decide if it was prepared to increase its numbers.

Cllr Robbins made the point that there was currently no UKIP representation on any of the committees and said they were unable to represent their electors fully because of that.

"Unelected members sit on these committees and UKIP members who have been elected have no say on them," he said.

Haverhill Online News

Comment on this story

[board listing] [login] [register]

No comments have been posted for this news entry.


You must be logged in to post messages. (login now)

© Haverhill-UK | Accessibility | Disclaimer