Home Page Haverhill News

Haverhill Poll
Haverhill Poll


Mailing List

Matthew Hancock
Your Local MP
 Haverhill UK Vacancy

Musicians benefit from new awards in memory of Haverhill woman

Thursday, 2nd October 2014.

The 2014 award-winners for the inaugural Deena Shypitka Music Awards, promoted by Haverhill Sinfonia, have been announced.

The awards are offered for musicians of any nationality up to the age of 28, who are studying on a postgraduate music course.

The awards are in memory of Deena Shypitka, who was involved with Haverhill Sinfonia since it was formed in 1986 and worked tirelessly dealing with the organization and administration until her death in 2013.

Nic Rumsey of Carisbrooke, the developer of Haverhill Research Park, said: “We congratulate Julian Clef on his award and we are delighted to have sponsored the Solo Piano category.

"We strongly believe that the competition exemplifies our town’s dedication to creating a rich cultural, as well as business community.”

The award-winners are:-
Jacob Shaw (26, British, cello) Royal Danish Academy of Music - £1,000.
Julian Clef (24, Indian, piano) Guildhall School of Music and Drama - £500, sponsored by Haverhill Research Park.
Fulvio Capra (21, Italian, clarinet) Royal Academy of Music - £500.
Thomas Aldren (22, British, violin) Royal Academy of Music - £350.
Henry Roberts (23, British, flute) Guildhall School of Music and Drama - £350.

Haverhill Online News

Comment on this story

[board listing] [login] [register]

No comments have been posted for this news entry.


You must be logged in to post messages. (login now)

© Haverhill-UK | Accessibility | Disclaimer