Home Page Haverhill News

Haverhill Poll
Haverhill Poll


Mailing List

Matthew Hancock
Your Local MP

Pairings fight out a close contest

Wednesday, 20th June 2012.

The qualifying competition for International Pairs, organised by Golf Frontiers, was played on Saturday, June 9.

In all 29 pairs took part in the better ball event with the winners qualifying for the regional final to be played at Forest Pines on September 5.

The results were extremely close, having to be separated by countback. In first place with 41 pts were Eric Armstrong & Steve Piotrowski, just edging out two other pairs also sharing 41pts, second place Julian North & Mel Stuart and third place Wayne Penman & Pat McGarr.

The best score returned was 42pts by father and son pairing of Dave and Lewis Whiting with 42pts, unfortunately Lewis, who is just 14 years old, was not eligible to qualify for the final.

Despite their disappointment, it was drinks all round afterwards, courtesy of Pat McGarr, who scored an ace on 129 yard par three eighth hole using a nine iron.

On Wednesday, June 13, the Menís Midweek Medal was contested. The overall winner by a one-shot margin was Paul Bartlett, who carded the lowest gross round with 73-8-65, trimming his handicap by a shot to seven.

The full results were: Division One, 1 Paul Bartlett 73-8-65; 2 Michael Bennett, 77-11-66; 3 Andy Softley 82-12-70.

Division Two, 1 Howard Ward 85-15-70, 2 Darren Lyons 83-13-70; 3 Gavin Taylor 84-13-71.

Division Three, 1 Chris Powell 92-23-69; 2 Brian Harney 97-22-75; 3 Barry Shuter 97-21-76.

Lady captain Doreen Darbey, assisted by immediate past lady captain Marian Mercer hosted her Lady Captainís Charity Day on Thursday, June 14.

Thankfully the weather was kind for the 60 ladies that took part, representing various golf clubs from the east region.

Longest Drive went to Shona Keene from Gog Magog and Nearest the Pin to Gill Clarke from Gosfield.

The winners of the team event with 94 pts were Lesley Knight, Carolyn Harris, Jennifer Rowe from Colne Valley with Pat Wellstead from Haverhill.

In second place were Val Harrison, Rowena Haslam, Anita Meryrick and Amanda Young all from Bishops Stortford. In third place with 88pts were Kim Davis, Georgina Holmes, Joanne Finter and Lizzie Laflin all from Stowmarket.

In all approximately £800 was raised for the Lady Captainís chosen charity, St Nicholas Hospice and after the prizegiving, Doreen thanked everyone for their generous support.

Haverhill Seniors played in Round Two of the Beaumont Trophy at home against Hintlesham on Thursday, June 14. The matches were all very close and the result could have gone either way, but the visitors just had the edge to win by 2 holes.

The results were (Haverhill Team first): Keith McCallum & Dick Sisman halved their match to Pete Marsh and David Bowen; Paul Wallace & David Parsons won 1up against Michael Knight & David Downes; Syd Gould & Bob Hammett lost 1 down to David Sadler & John Perry; and finally Mike Barnham & Ivan Drury lost 2 down to Michael Gale & Colin Rose.

Beaumont captain Mick Couzins thanked both teams for an excellent contest, and wished the Hintlesham Team all the best for their Third Round match.

Haverhill golfers got up bright and early on Saturday, June 16, for a 5.30am shotgun start for the Midsummer Madness competition, run by the social committee.

In all, 56 competitors took part in the four ball team event, with three scores to count on each hole. The result was very close with the winners, Terry Pinkney, Pat OíSullivan, Colin Ward and Sean Doyle scoring 117pts.

Second place went to Bryan Graham, Steve Bush, Mark Barrett and Howard Ward on countback with 116pts and in third place were Dave Perrett, Michael Perrett, Roger Turner and Scott Turner also with 116pts. Afterwards the golfers all enjoyed a well-deserved full English breakfast in the clubhouse!

On Sunday, June 17, the next major in Haverhillís calendar, the Presidentís Putter was played. The format was tough; individual medal, played off ĺ handicap, which was also limited to a maximum handicap of 18.

The winner with a superb round of 74-5-69, and lowest gross score was Jack Bligh. In second place was Gavin Taylor with 80-10-70 and in third place Andy Gage with 79-9-70.

Haverhill Online News

Comment on this story

[board listing] [login] [register]

No comments have been posted for this news entry.


You must be logged in to post messages. (login now)

© Haverhill-UK | Accessibility | Disclaimer