Home Page Haverhill News

Haverhill Poll
Haverhill Poll


Mailing List

Matthew Hancock
Your Local MP

Seven-shot victory for golfer Linda

Tuesday, 15th November 2011.

The Ladies November medal at Haverhill Golf Club was played on Saturday, November 5.

Linda Macfarlane won the event convincingly with an excellent round of 95-27-68, seven shots clear of second place Jane Herrington with 103-28-75, on countback, from third place Lyn Fish with 96-21-75 also on countback. As a result Linda has had her handicap cut by two shots to 25.

Haverhillís assistant professional, Harry Mills, played in the second round of the Thomson Tour Order of Merit event held at Chesfield Downs Golf Club in Hertfordshire.

In breezy conditions, Harry scored a four over par 75 to finish in 14th place. The next round is due to be played on November 28 at Mentmore Golf Club.

The Menís Midweek medal, played on Wednesday, November 9, produced an abundance of sub par rounds.

David Wilbraham was the overall winner with a five-shot lead over the rest of the field, scoring a nett 63. As a result he has had his handicap cut by two shots to 12.

The full results were: Division One, 1 David Mayers 80-12-68; 2 Terry Lyons 79-11-68; 3 Ellis Brown 79-10-69.

Division Two, 1 David Wilbraham 77-14-63; 2 Trevor Broomfield 82-14-68; 3 Jonathan Wiseman 85-16-69.

Division Three, 1 John Ward 92-23-69; 2 Barry Shuter 95-22-73; 3 Peter Grant 102-28-74.

On Thursday, November 10, the Winter Alliance moved to Southwold, and another fine day attracted a field of 52 players, including four professionals.

The Professional prize was won by Danny Barton of Felixstowe Golf Centre with 71, one shot ahead of second place Robin Mann of Southwold with 72.

The four ball better ball competition was won with an excellent 46pts by the Waldringfield pairing of Sean Whelan and Chris Ward.

In second place were Roger Toone & Andy Fish with 44pts from Stoke-by-Nayland & Haverhill (on countback with 22 on the back 9) from third place Chris Clark & Robin Hood with 44pts from Ipswich & Brett Vale.

Just dipping out of the prizes were the Haverhill pairing of Malcolm Klingle and Wayne Penman with 43pts. The next meeting takes place on Sunday, November 20, at Newton Green.

An impressive turnout of 104 members from all sections of Haverhill Golf Club took part in the Anniversary Shield on Saturday, November 12. The format was Texas scramble with teams of four playing off 1/10th combined handicaps.

Winning with an excellent gross score of 60 nett 56.1 were Mark Stanton, Paul Bartlett, Stuart King and Jack Bligh.

In second place with a gross score of 64 nett 56.4 were Steve Nichols, Leah Nichols, Paul Borowy and Bill Lancee and in third place with a gross score of 61 nett 56.7 were last yearís winners, Andy Softley, Tim Daniels, David Roope and Eamonn Bareham.

Haverhill Online News

Comment on this story

[board listing] [login] [register]

No comments have been posted for this news entry.


You must be logged in to post messages. (login now)

© Haverhill-UK | Accessibility | Disclaimer