Home Page Haverhill News

Haverhill Poll
Haverhill Poll


Mailing List

Matthew Hancock
Your Local MP

Brisk polling expected for today's election

Thursday, 6th May 2010.

The General Election is taking place today and polling in Haverhill, as everywhere else in the country, is expected to be brisk for the most unpredictable election for many years.

Polling stations around the town are open until 10pm. Haverhill is part of the West Suffolk constituency, held by the Conservatives in 2005 with a majority of 8,700, nearly 20 per cent.

That was by the MP who had served the constituency since it was created in 1997, Richard Spring, but he is standing down this time.

The candidates today are: Abul Monsur Ohid Ahmed (Labour), Anmdrew Appleby (Independent), Belinda Brooks-Gordon (Liberal Democrat), Matt Hancock (Conservative), Ramon Johns (BNP), Ian Smith (UKIP), Colin Young (Christian Peoples Alliance).

Polling stations in Haverhill are: Chalkstone Community Centre, East Town Park, Haverhill Arts Centre, New Cangle Primary School, Methodist Church Rooms, Haverhill Rugby Club, Leiston Social Centre and Sainsbury's car park.

The election for this constituiency is being run by Forest Heath District Council and the count takes place tonight in Mildenhall.

Haverhill Online News

Comment on this story

[board listing] [login] [register]

No comments have been posted for this news entry.


You must be logged in to post messages. (login now)

© Haverhill-UK | Accessibility | Disclaimer